Sunday, 15 September, 2019

Citizens of 190 countries can obtain ‘Airport Visa’ in Iran

Deputy head of Iran’s Cultural Heritage, Handicrafts and Tourism Organization (ICHHTO) has said nationals of 190 countries can obtain a visa to visit Iran on arrival at the airport.

Speaking to the Tasnim News Agency, Morteza Rahmani Movahed said the tourist visa program at the airport excludes nationals from several countries, including the US, Britain and a number of Southeast Asian states.

According to the official, the airport visas will be valid for 30 days, with the possibility of another 15-day extension.

Iran, last month, started implementing a cabinet’s bill that allows tourists to obtain visas with 30 days validity upon their arrival in the country’s international airports.

Earlier on August, Iran’s cabinet passed a new bill, extending Iran Airport Visa or Visa On Arrival (VOA) to 30 days for foreign tourists.

According to the Iranian officials, there is no restriction for foreigners to obtain a visa upon their arrival at Iranian airports several times within a year.

Iran has also revoked visa requirements for nationals of 7 countries as part of its plans to boost tourism industry in the country. The citizens of Turkey, Lebanon, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Bolivia, Egypt and Syria can travel to Iran and stay in the country without visa from 15 to 90 days under the new visa requirement regulations.

The country also seeks reciprocal visa waiver programs with 28 countries as part of its bid to boost inbound tourism, Director of Iranian Cultural Heritage, Handicrafts and Tourism Organization (ICHTO) Masoud Soltanifar said on August.

“We have selected 40 countries on the basis of our top priority for attracting tourists, out of which we have sent visa waiver requests to 28 countries and are following the issue through diplomatic channels,” Soltanifar added.

Iranian Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif has said the country is ready to offer visa-free travel to citizens of the countries that are willing to engage in reciprocal visa waiver mechanisms with the Islamic Republic.

Iran has launched an ambitious plan to boost tourism income. Soltanifar said the target is to generate $25-30 billion by attracting 20 million tourists a year.

fair to share...Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on Google+Share on LinkedInPrint this pageEmail this to someone


  1. hasan

    November 10, 2021 at 8:44 pm

    Why iraq is not included in this offer?

  2. Evgeny

    November 12, 2021 at 6:52 am

    You wrote about 190 countries, but there is no list of them.

    • Real Iran

      November 12, 2021 at 9:35 am

      Every one from all around the world can take Iranian ‪‎visa‬ on arrivals for 30 days which is also extendable up to 90 days in all the airports of the country.

      The only exceptions are: ‪USA‬, ‪‎UK‬, ‪‎Canada‬, ‪Colombia‬, ‪#Israel‬, ‪‎Somalia‬, ‪‎Iraq‬, ‪Jordan‬, ‪‎Afghanistan‬, ‪Pakistan‬ and ‪Bangladesh‬.

      Nationals of these countries even don’t need visa on arrivals and can visit the country without visa: ‪‎Turkey‬ and ‪Syria‬ (90 days), ‪Georgia‬ (45 days), ‪Bolivia‬ (30 days), ‪‎Egypt‬ (20 days), ‪Azerbaijan‬ and ‪Lebanon‬ (15 days).

      All the countries including exceptions can still visit Iran without visa for 14 days only at Kish or Qeshm islands.

      Israeli passport holders and other passport holders who have evidences of visiting Israel are totally banned from entering every port of the country.”

      • Ali

        December 30, 2021 at 10:34 am

        Where is the source of this information please?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *